Country Secondary Schools Competition


The NSW Junior Chess League’s Country Secondary Schools Competition is a knock-out teams competition for schools outside the Sydney Metropolitan area, the Central Coast and Blue Mountains. (These areas are covered by a separate Metropolitan Secondary Schools Competition.)

The competition, which is for one team of four players per school, is played in six regions Hunter, North Coast, North West, Riverina, South Coast and Western. When a team loses it is knocked out of the main competition but then participates in a "second place competition" (also a knock-out) which determines second place in the region. The region winners qualify to play in finals which are held in November.

For further details see the other web pages for this competition (Entry Details, Rules, Resources, Draw & Results, etc.) or contact the Country Secondary Schools Coordinator, Bev Peters, phone (02) 9417 4166, email



121 schools participated in the
2020 competition